Real experts you can trust

University lecturers with the experience of helping students worldwide achieve amazing results

UCAS Points Guide

The UCAS Tariff is a means of allocating points to post-16 qualifications (A-levels) used for entry to higher education. The UCAS tariff system has been set up by UCAS to help universities and colleges set entry requirements and to make conditional offers. This UCAS points guide will take you through the basics.

A minimum amount of UCAS points will be required for any course, and if your expected grades meet these requirements you may be given a conditional offer.

Here’s a quick video explaining UCAS points:

(Source: YouTube – Science and Maths by Primrose Kitten)

UCAS Points Guide

A Level Grade UCAS Points
A* 56
A 48
B 40
C 32
D 24
E 16


Key facts

  • New UCAS Tariff points apply to courses starting from September 2017, and not to 2015 or 2016 courses.
  • Not all universities and colleges use the Tariff.
  • Some qualifications with Tariff points might not be considered by particular universities and colleges.
  • Some universities or colleges limit the qualifications they accept; e.g., only Tariff points from the best three A levels.
  • The new Tariff is based on a finite scale, so it is not possible to get more than a certain number of points for a single award qualification. In some instances you may see top grades of qualifications getting the same number of points.
  • There are lots of different BTEC qualifications listed. Not all BTEC qualifications include a D* grade. Speak to your teacher or adviser if you are unclear which BTEC you are studying.
  • The AS has been repositioned at 40%, or as close to 40% as possible, of the A level at each grade. AS grade A is aligned to A level grade B, AS grade C aligned to A level grade D and AS grade E is below A level grade E.

For further information regarding the change in UCAS points see here.